B.liv Blackheads Sebum Gel

Posted: December 7, 2012 in Review, Skin Care
Tags: , , , , ,

“Blessed” with combination oily acne prone skin *note my sarcasm*, naturally I would struggle with enlarged pores and blackheads – sigh.

I have only started to really take care of my skin by the start of this year, so in the past I have performed “sins” that I have come to regret now.

Blackheads concentrated on my strawberry nose, what other ways to get rid of them unless by extracting them manually? Sadly, forceful manual extraction resulted in enlarged pores, in addition to the pain. Blame my ignorant young self with itchy hands, who obviously didn’t know better.

Well after reading rave reviews in the skincare forum entries and blogs, I decided to get the product. I purchased it during a 20% off at Guardian from the usual price of SGD$70 for 30ml.

Product Claims:  

“Say goodbye to painful squeezing! This light cooling gel promises to remove stubborn blackheads and whiteheads painlessly in just 14 days of application and stop them from appearing ever again. It keeps excessive oil secretion under control and skin irritation will never rule again.”

B-Liv Off With Those Heads

Texture: light slightly hazy transparent gel. Pat into the skin, cool mild tingling sensation upon application. After, my nose looks matte, not shiny. 

Smell: cool peppermint. 

Verdict: MUST HAVE! I use a tiny amount of this as I only apply it on my nose area daily day and night after my toner. Nothing else on my nose after. Lasted me quite a while, i’m 7 months into using this and I’m not finished – I’d say value for money. 

Repurchase? Definitely! This product is a savior for my blackhead-ridden strawberry nose. I still extract them out, but the extraction process is much easier now, not as violently nor forcefully as before using this product. The extraction process is not as painful and the redness after extraction subsides overnight. 

I usually extract my blackheads twice a week, but after using this product, once a week is enough for me. I gently squeeze and the blackheads are out, the effect of this product is amazing! Extraction post to follow =) 

This product lives up to most of its claims, yet let’s be honest, there is NOTHING to stop blackheads from appearing again. Clogged pores are definitely much LESS with continued usage of this product, I can attest to that 🙂 

This product does not shrink pores, yet I am very satisfied – as my nose looks generally cleaner now as the blackheads are easily and quite effortlessly extracted by gentle squeezing using my fingers. 

Another thing I like is that it keeps excessive oil under control yet this product does not dry my nose area. I still get oily by afternoon, don’t get me wrong. However, this product works in controlling excessive oil as previously, my T-zone would look very oily much faster while the rest are pretty normal. After using this product, my nose area does not look  jarringly oilier than the rest of my face. Quite a significant improvement!

I only use toner and this blackheads sebum gel and nothing else after (no other serum, no  moisturizer, no sunscreen) – to avoid clogged pores on my nose and this works for me. 

Other reviews that convinced me to purchase this product in the first place:   by SharonSkincare Kitteh,  Ee Von and Mei.   

My only gripe with this product is the price as it is quite expensive and is not readily available in Indonesia. I can only get it at Guardian or Sasa or their online store in Singapore. 

Until my next review!

Leave a comment